Hawaii Fukuoka Kenjin kai

Fukuoka International Exchange Foundation (FIEF)

FIEF’s Roles and Services



Exchange with Overseas Fukuoka Prefecture Citizens Association (Kenjinkai)


Overseas migration from Fukuoka Prefecture began in 1885 to Hawaii and then extended to North America, Central and South America, etc.  The migrants cooperated to make these countries a new home and formed the Overseas Fukuoka Prefecture Citizens Association (known as Kenjinkai).  There are currently 21 branches established in 9 countries with membership consisting of migrants and descendents of migrants.  The migrants found themselves in countries where not only the language was different, but climate and customs also made for a completely different environment.  However, their diligence, sincerity and ambitious mind earned high praise.  Especially in Brazil, they came to be known as Japones Garantido (Trustworthy Japanese), contributing greatly to the development of their new country.  The migrants are currently active in a number of areas including politics, economy, education, culture and medicine, and have earned the respect and trust of their adopted countries.


With the development of the global society, Fukuoka Prefecture has been proactive in overseas exchange, and the Kenjinkai has been a valuable asset acting as a bridge between the Prefecture and their adopted countries.


For many, it has been generations since their ancestors first migrated, and the leadership of the Kenjinkai has been passed down.  The main activities of the Kenjinkai are carried out by the 2nd, 3rd or 4th generation, and an increasing number are not familiar with Japanese language, tradition and culture.  In order to continue the Kenjinkai activities, the Prefecture offers them a variety of support projects in order to strengthen the relationship and promote mutual exchange with Fukuoka.



Overseas Fukuoka Kenjinkai (Associations of People from Fukuoka Prefecture)

Country Name of Kenjinkai Year Founded
U.S.A. Seattle Tacoma Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1907
  Wanto Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1907
  Southern California Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1908
  San Francisco Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1950
U.S.A Hawaii Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1957
(Hawaii) Kona Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1967
  Hawaii Shima Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1967
  Kauai Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1985
Canada Vancouver Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1978
  Toronto Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1980
  Lethbridge Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1981
Mexico Mexico Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1952
Argentina Argentina Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1965
Bolivia Zai Bolivia Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1973
Brazil Brasil Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1930
  Manaus Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1959
  Belem Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1969
  Tome Aqua Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1975
Colombia Colombia Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1978
Paraguay Paraguay Fukuoka Kenjinkai 1958
Peru Peru Fukuoka Club 1959
Translate »

Cached at: 2024-07-23 08:45:23pm